top of page

The Last Week

Unfortunately, this will have to be a short update as there is still a lot for me to do. This was the final full sprint of senior year. We have a couple days to work on stuff after this sprint but the game more or less must be complete. It's been a challenging ride to say the least. Because of how busted so many aspects of our game has been, I took it on myself to try and hone the sprint to very specific issues that needed to be addressed. This was different than the normal sprint planning (which unfortunately hasn't been very effective), in which the leads provide the tasks to their teams. This week, I pretty much provided tasks to the entire team. This ended up taking a very long time (much longer than it should have) as I had a lot of difficulty contacting various members and getting them to put tasks on or even finding answers on how certain tasks should be done. Unfortunately, this meant that the sprint started late for those people who couldn't be contacted efficiently.

Beyond the struggle of getting tasks set this week, we also are trying to get the team reel created. This hasn't gone well at all. Between a microphone not working for the camera I rented and issues contacting team member (again), it's been a long process to simply get usable footage. On top of that, our game's rough state has delayed our ability to gain good gameplay footage to use in the reel. This is something we will be getting in the next day or two. Currently, I'm sitting by my lead artist who is hard at work editing the footage for the reel. Hopefully, he can shorten it a lot more so we can have something to show our professor in class today. After this blog post, I'll be going back and providing feedback and assistance to him as needed.

Next week is final fixes being made to our game and prepping for the senior show. I'm lucky to have my lead programmer in this time, who has taken a load of the burden off of me, in terms of designing out our space for the gallery (where people will be able to try our game). He has definitely been over working himself the last day or two though. I worry about that. Thankfully, after this next weekend, his work load, as with the rest of the team's, should lower quite a bit when we build lock.

Anyway, I'm going to get back to my work now. I'll likely post at least one more blog soon to go over how the last build is and postmortem the process.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page